Electra Rising: Forsyth Cello Concerto

October 18, 2019

October 19, 2019

$25 to $85

Jack Singer Concert Hall, 205 8 Avenue Southeast, Calgary



Events Description

Grammy Award-winning conductor Hans Graf, Music Director Laureate of the CPO, returns to conduct a programme featuring three trailblazing composers: acclaimed visionary Malcolm Forsyth, the individualist Paul Hindemith, and Johannes Brahms, whose music has no equals for sonority. Juno Award-winning Canadian cellist Amanda Forsyth performs Electra Rising, a deeply personal cello concerto written for and about her by her father Malcolm.

Malcom Forsyth was named Canadian Composer of the Year in 1981.
He immigrated to Canada from South Africa when his daughter Amanda was 2 years old.
Electra Rising was commissioned by the CPO and the CBC Vancouver Orchestra in 1995, where the premiere took place.
Brahms’ Symphony No. 3 is unique because all four movements end quietly.
HANS GRAF, conductor


HINDEMITH Concertmusik for Strings and Brass

M. FORSYTH Electra Rising

BRAHMS Symphony No. 3

Who is it for?


Tickets : $25 to $85
How to get tickets?
Buy Online
Phone: 403.571.0849
At the door: Box office


Date & Time: Friday, October 18, 2019 | 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
Saturday, October 19, 2019 / 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Venue: Jack Singer Concert Hall, 205 – 8 Avenue SE, Calgary, AB T2G 0K9

Paid Parking
Public transport accessible

Add a Review