Livestream: A Celebration of Music by Black Composers

October 2, 2020

October 2, 2020

Donations are encouraged



Events Description

Join the UCalgary School of Creative and Performing Arts online for a live concert from the Rozsa Centre, featuring classical music by black composers, mostly in the Romantic style, dating back to the 19th century era.

The program was initiated in support of the Black Lives Matter movement and includes music for a variety of instruments: violin, piano, voice, saxophone and string quartet. Award-winning playwright, screen writer and author, Cheryl Foggo—a descendant of Black Oklahomans who migrated to Alberta in 1910—will begin the concert with a reading of a monologue from one of her works documenting the Black experience in Alberta. The concert will also feature Michèle Moss—dancer, choreographer, and faculty member in the School of Creative and Performing Arts.

With music by:

  • Florence Price
  • Nathaniel Dett
  • Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson
  • Jacqueline B. Hairston
  • William Foster McDaniel
  • Samuel Coleridge-Taylor
  • William Grant Still
  • Julius P. Williams
  • Adolphus Hailstork
  • and Daniel Bernard Roumain

Performed by UCalgary Music faculty, alumni, students and guests:

  • Edmond Agopian and Isaac Willocks, violins
  • Dean O’Brien, viola
  • Jasmine Long, cello
  • Michael Coburn, piano
  • Jeremy Brown, saxophone
  • Laura Hynes, soprano
  • Monologue by Cheryl Foggo
  • Dance by Michèle Moss

Donations to the Division of Music are encouraged.


Date & Time: Saturday, October 2, 2020 | 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Venue: Online

Add a Review