One-Page Score Project

April 30, 2021

May 7, 2021




Events Description


This spring, Vancouver New Music will present its biggest One-Page Score Project yet. Giorgio Magnanensi will work with 20 musicians, and 42 high-school students enrolled in the Vancouver School Board’s University Transition Program (in partnership with the University of British Columbia) to create an all new series of graphic scores.

In graphic notation, images, signs and symbols can be used to represent sounds, sonic textures and various kinds of musical events. Using graphic notation, composers don’t need any prior knowledge of how to write or read traditional musical notation – just a desire to create and explore sound.

Guided by Magnanensi, students will learn about and experiment with graphic notation, sound, composition, gesture and figure, then work in groups to create their own One-Page Scores.

Following this introduction, the students created pieces that explore entropy and order, incorporate data visualization, abstract expression, and themes ranging from family to sun cycles, chemistry, movement and sound and more.

For the final workshop session each student group was paired with a professional musician, who will create sonic interpretations of the students’ scores, with each sound artist contributing their unique instrumentation and musical style.

The final creations from each session will be premiered online as live premieres in two sessions on April 30th and May 7th at 11AM PDT. Everyone is invited to tune in and take part in a live chat.

Featuring music by Adrian Avendaño, Sara Gold, Doug Gorkoff, Peki Hajdukovic, Marina Hasselberg, Hitori Tori, Alanna Ho, Viviane Houle, John Kastelic, Constantine Katsiris, Jaewoo Lee, Molly MacKinnon, The Memory Palace, Daniela O’Fee, Jean Routhier, Paddy Ryan, Anju Singh, Emma Tomic, Andrea Wong, Andrea Young.


Date & Time:

Session #1 – Friday, April 30, 2021 | 11:00 AM PDT

Session #2 – Friday, May 7, 2021 | 11:00 AM PDT

Venue: Online

The One-Page Scores will premiere on Vancouver New Music’s YouTube channel:

Add a Review