More Bus Services for Rural Alberta


Mayor Ted Clugston, Beth Lewis, Premier Notley, MLA Wanner and Al Kemmere celebrate provincial funding of new rural bus pilot projects.

Albertans living along the Medicine Hat/Lethbridge Highway 3 corridor and in Red Deer County will have better access to public transportation as the Government of Alberta expands a pilot program for new bus lines.

To better connect rural Albertans to services, jobs, family and friends, the Government of Alberta is investing $700,000 in a new Medicine Hat/Lethbridge shuttle bus project that will connect 12 communities across the region, providing public transportation to 27,700 people who currently have no transit access.

In addition, a new bus route in Red Deer County – connecting the City of Red Deer with Springbrook, Penhold and Innisfail – is also receiving $700,000 from the province to offer service for 11,000 local residents who currently have no public transportation.

  • The southern bus will stop in Redcliff, Seven Persons, Bow Island, Burdett, Grassy Lake, Purple Springs, Taber, Barnwell, Cranford and Coaldale.
  • The Red Deer County bus will stop in the City of Red Deer, Springbrook, Penhold and Innisfail.

Previous projects approved under the pilot program include:

  • A regular bus shuttle service between Camrose and Edmonton.
  • A regional transit service that connects Sexsmith, Clairmont, Wembley, Beaverlodge and Hythe with the City of Grande Prairie’s existing transit system.

Read More

Posts Information

  • : 13
  • Leave a Reply