More Regions in Red Zone as Ontario Lowers Thresholds for Stricter COVID-19 Measures Under New Tiered System



Ontario is lowering the thresholds for imposing stricter COVID-19 measures under its colour-coded framework in light of what Premier Doug Ford calls “alarming” new projections.

The changes mean several regions – including Hamilton, and Peel and York regions – will move to the red alert level, the most restrictive short of a lockdown.

But Ford warned the most recent modelling shows the province is “staring down the barrel of another lockdown.”

The move comes a day after health authorities unveiled new projections that showed the province is on track to see 6,500 new daily COVID-19 cases by the middle of next month.

Ford said yesterday he would move ahead with further actions as soon as his public health advisers gave him the green light to do so.

The lower thresholds will take effect on Monday, except for Toronto, which was already set to move to the red alert level on Saturday.

Ontario is reporting 1,396 new cases of COVID-19 today, with 17 deaths related to the virus.

The new case total is a decrease from yesterday’s record daily high of 1,575.

Health Minister Christine Elliott says there are 440 new cases in Toronto, 440 in Peel and 155 in York Region.

Elliott also says there are 1,018 more resolved cases and 40,509 tests completed.

There are 452 people in hospital due to COVID-19, 106 in intensive care, and 67 on ventilators.

Regions in Red Zone:

The changes come into effect on Monday Nov. 16 at 12:01 am. The city of Toronto will move to the red zone on Saturday at 12:01 a.m.

  • Hamilton Public Health Services
  • Halton Region Public Health
  • Toronto Public Health
  • York Region Public Health

Regions in Orange (or Restrict) Zone:

The changes come into effect on Monday Nov. 16 at 12:01 am.

  • Brant County Health Unit
  • Durham Region Health Department
  • Eastern Ontario Health Unit
  • Niagara Region Public Health
  • Wellington-Dufferin-Guelph Public Health
  • Region of Waterloo Public Health

Regions in Yellow (or “Protect”) Zone:

The changes come into effect on Monday Nov. 16 at 12:01 am.

  • Huron Perth Public Health
  • Middlesex-London Health Unit
  • Public Health Sudbury & Districts
  • Southwestern Public Health
  • Huron Perth Public Health
  • Windsor-Essex County Health Unit

— With Files From The Canadian Press


Posts Information

  • : 38,30,39,31,32,24,23,11,34,6
  • Leave a Reply