About Seven Oaks House Museum
Built in 1851, the Seven Oaks House is one of the oldest surviving residences in Manitoba.
This was built in 1851-53 for John and Mary (Sinclair) Inkster, the heads of an influential Métis family in the Red River Settlement. Their first log farm house (c.1831) still stands nearby and is among the oldest buildings in Manitoba.
Today their restored homestead and its stunning examples of Red River architecture invite visitors to step back in time, and experience life as it was for a family in the 19th century.
The residence was opened as Seven Oaks House Museum in 1953. This is a Provincial Heritage Site.
What to Do at Seven Oaks House Museum?
Things to Do
Explore the house that recapture the style when John Inskter and his family lived. The museum displays amazing old-world woodwork, a root cellar, bison horn furniture. John Inkster’s original store and post office are also open for viewing.
When to visit Seven Oaks House Museum?
Open from the May Long Weekend through Labour Day.
Daily | 10:30 AM to 4:30 PM
Time required to visit:
1 -2 hours, depending on interest
How much will it cost to visit Seven Oaks House Museum?
Admission by Donation
Drop-in tours are available during open hours
Please contact us to schedule group tours.
How to get to Seven Oaks House Museum?
50 Mac St., Winnipeg, MB R2V 4Z9
Lat: 49.930155 Lon: -97.11614
Get Directions from Your Location
Parking: Parking lot
Public Transit Accessibility: Yes
What about accessibility?
Building is wheel chair accessible. Wheelchair accessible picnic tables in the garden.