November 30: See the Last Lunar Eclipse of 2020

Weather permitting, you can experience a penumbral lunar eclipse on November 30, 2020. This is the fourth lunar eclipse of 2020. The best part is, you will be able to see the eclipse irrespective of your location in Canada.

 

A lunar eclipse occurs when the sun, earth, and moon line up with Earth in the middle, and Earth’s shadow passes over the moon. We call it a penumbral lunar eclipse when the moon only moves through Earth’s penumbra or the outer part of the shadow. Hence the penumbral lunar eclipse is faint or harder to notice especially in cities due to light pollution.

WHEN IS THE LUNAR ECLIPSE

 

Date: Monday, November 30, 2020

Depending on your location, you can see the eclipse late hour of Sunday night, November 29, or the early hours of Monday, November 30th.

Lunar Eclipse in Eastern Standard Time:

Penumbral Eclipse begins at 02:32 a.m. on Monday, November 30th

Greatest (maximum) eclipse at 04:42 a.m. on Monday, November 30th

Penumbral Eclipse ends at Monday, November 30th | 06:53 a.m. on Monday, November 30th

Maximum Eclipse Times

  • Pacific Standard Time (eg: Most Parts of BC): 01:42 a.m. on Monday, November 30th
  • Mountain Standard Time (Eg: Alberta): 02:42 a.m. on Monday, November 30th
  • Central Time (Eg: Saskatchewan): 03:42 a.m. on Monday, November 30th
  • Central Standard Time (Eg: Manitoba): 03:42 a.m. on Monday, November 30th
  • Eastern Standard Time (Eg: Ontario/Quebec): 04:42 a.m. on Monday, November 30th
  • Atlantic Standard Time (NB, PEI, NS): 05:42 a.m. on Monday, November 30th
  • Newfoundland Standard Time: 06:12 a.m. on Monday, November 30th

 

HOW TO WATCH LUNAR ECLIPSE

image

Image credit: Fred Espenak/NASA

Unlike a solar eclipse, the lunar eclipse is safe to view with the naked eye.

However, a penumbral eclipse is more difficult to observe as the differences are very subtle. If you are very observant, you can notice a dark shading on the moon’s face at mid-eclipse. You can make use of a binocular or telescope for a much clearer view of the lunar features.

This lunar eclipse is of pretty long duration. In fact, this will be the longest eclipse of 2020, lasting 4 hours, 20 minutes, and 59 seconds starting at 2:32 a.m. EST.

 

Posts Information

  • : 10,38,2,37,13,28,3,25,30,5,27,39,31,32,36,24,23,11,22,35,21,29,34,6,26,33,15
  • Leave a Reply